Flooded With Memories #ArlingtonHeights

I was on a trip to Arlington Heights with @dhphotogeorge yesterday. We talked about many things. Just being in the area of Arlington Heights where I was once homeless floods my mind with memories. Some are good, some are bad. I could feel so much emotion walking around the downtown Arlington Heights business district. I had so many experiences while homeless. Much of my life centered around that area. Despite the stigma of homelessness, post traumatic stress disorder, and an abundance of negative experiences, I value what I learned and I am grateful to the people of downtown Arlington Heights. Thank you, AH, for showing me that you really are the “City Of Good Neighbors“.

Social Media Diva. From homeless to housed by Twitter & networking. Star in #Twittamentary. Interviews by numerous news media. Public Speaker. Advocate. *Not affiliated with Public Action to Deliver Shelter (PADS)*

Posted in Uncategorized
3 comments on “Flooded With Memories #ArlingtonHeights
  1. Not my real name, just a handle/email I use on the internet.

    Like

  2. Fascinating. I saw your story at invisiblepeople.tv and was curious when I noticed your handle as ‘PadsChicago’. This past Spring I was homeless living in my car back in Palatine (I grew up there) and I was working with PadsToHope in Arlington Heights on NW Highway. Returning to Palatine was a disaster for me – fair-weather friends and all that and I’ve since returned to Las Vegas where I’d been living for the past 4 years – it was the only way I could have any hope of getting off the street. It’s so tough to be out in the street… I was sleeping in my car at Northwest Community hospital parking lot, always on the lookout for trouble and cops, being harassed everywhere, hardly a minute’s peace.

    I was so happy to see you get some housing and you seem happier since. Just want you to know how much I admire your courage and determination 🙂

    Godspeed,

    The C0zmik N0mad

    Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,717 other followers

December 2011
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Categories
Blog Stats
  • 42,751 hits
