Yeah. I’m a junkie.

I go nowhere without my cell phone. What if someone texts or tweets me? Or I could get an email! I embarrassingly confess that I even sleep with my cell phone in my hand. Oh, it’s also my alarm clock. People who know me are well aware that my cell phone is always in my hand when I’m out. When I am home my phone is always in my hand or next to me when I’m online on my laptop. On my laptop I will have several windows and tabs open: two or three browsers; email; Hootsuite; Google+; Empire Avenue; two different Facebook accounts, one in each browser; Linked In; my blogs–three of them: WordPress, Posterous, and Tumblr (all posts the same); Flickr; and often YouTube and sometimes Klout and Foursquare. Not to mention Huffington Post and AllTop.

No, I’m not an addict. I am not addicted to social media. I speak the truth. Just because I gotta sign up for every social networking site doesn’t mean I’m addicted. Certainly not! I am merely a social media junkie. I love the social connecting, the sharing of information and humor, the networking, the fun and games, watching videos and sharing pictures, the sharing of lives. I am so connected that it takes all day and then some to catch up with everything. But I enjoy it! I am in love with social media! I really find the whole social networking thing fun. This is something that I could easily do for a job. It’s like a job already. I just wish I could pay myself. LOL. Perhaps in the future I can get a job in social media. It’s really a job I wouldn’t mind having. Maybe it will happen. I love being out and doing things and meeting people and sharing. I could really use some income too! Like desperately. I don’t know if I am ready to work yet though. I still have some issues with PTSD. I get emotional, anxious and have bad dreams at night. I’m sure I couldn’t work full-time. Maybe part-time? I don’t know. I wish I could come up with a part-time job that is flexible and I can set my own hours. That way I could  work around any emotions or whatever. I think it would make working easier and less stressful to deal with when I already have PTSD to complicate things. It’s all something to think about. Maybe someday I’ll get to actually work with some of you and not just socialize. In the meantime using social media is continuing to help me to deal with PTSD and stress. I am grateful for all the friends I have made online and in real life through social media. Thank you all.

Author: padschicago

Social Media Diva. From homeless to housed by Twitter & networking. Star in #Twittamentary. Interviews by numerous news media. Public Speaker. Advocate. *Not affiliated with Public Action to Deliver Shelter (PADS)*

Leave a Reply

