Payback!

I made it to Cross & Crown’s MOH yesterday and picked up some mail. *GOOD* mail–not bills! One was a prescription discount card. The other was a prepaid credit card that can be reloaded from a Green Dot Money Pak, purchasable at most stores! Having this card will allow me easier access the money donated to my Pay Pal account. (fyi: Pay Pal is not currently working but I hope to have it going again very soon–for now, money can be donated through the Green Dot Money Pak.) Easier access to money means I will be able to purchase things I need: phone service, bus passes, shoes or clothing. If I receive enough donations, I will be able to focus not just on myself, but also other homeless individuals and networking activities. In the future I would like to have separate cards for personal use and helping the homeless. When its raining, have you any idea how much I hate to not invite a homeless person in to McDonalds or a store for coffee? There is so much that could be done for the homeless population that isn’t being done!

I wonder if the homeless community could go on strike? Go on strike for better services or to give up being homeless for a day. If you need a job done, you could go up to one of them who are on strike and hire them on the spot, giving them opportunity to not be homeless for a day. It would take some thinking out and creativity, but couldn’t something similar be done? What are you thoughts on helping to improve the quality of life of those who are homeless?

Social Media Diva. From homeless to housed by Twitter & networking. Star in #Twittamentary. Interviews by numerous news media. Public Speaker. Advocate. *Not affiliated with Public Action to Deliver Shelter (PADS)*

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in advocacy, charities, jobs, Personal
3 comments on “Payback!
  1. Galaxian says:

    RA is a real son of a *** and the whole general thing of doing the streets with major medical problems a nearly impossible hassle. Wheaton IL has worse weather than Salt Lake City. Best of luck.

    Like

  2. padschicago says:

    I don’t really “panhandle” online. I don’t normally ask for money. However many people do wish to help so I have the ability to accept donations, and people are able to request specific uses. I mostly use this blog for educational and informative purposes of homelessness and related issues to my own life and others. I am grateful for help I do receive. Without it, I couldn’t pay for my phone service or bus passes to get around. I have rheumatic pain issues which can make walking painful and sometimes difficult, so I depend on using public transportation. I consider my followers a blessing to my life just by being my friend and supportive of homeless issues whether they donate financially or not. Everyone has made such an important, positive difference in my life!

    Like

  3. Galaxian says:

    All the years I was out on the street, I didn’t have electronic panhandling. Would it have made a difference?

    Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,717 other followers

March 2011
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Categories
Blog Stats
  • 42,751 hits
