Doctor appointment update

I saw my primary care doctor yesterday for follow-up on my swelling. As usual, my weight was checked. I lost about 4 lbs in 5 days being on the “water pills”! I still have quite a bit of swelling and he increased the dose from 20mg to 40mg. He did a brief EKG in office and also ordered a CT scan to be done before my next appointment in 1 week.

I got the CT scan scheduled for next-day and went to Evanston Hospital to pick up the iodine dye prep kit. On my way back to Chicago I got a phone call from the hospital, NorthShore University Health System, REFUSING to do the test because I have no insurance and money to pay for it! Sure, they will do a payment plan–as long as I have at least $500 to pay up front–and they will collect payment before the test. I turned in papers for financial assistance for the medical group and hospital just a week ago–and according to the person from the hospital who called me yesterday refusing the CT scan, those won’t cover the test because of the dates. I emailed my doctor and told him about what is going on. He is an excellent doctor and patient advocate! He is working on his end now to try and figure something out. With my PTSD issues I will get anxious if I am forced to take care somewhere else. I’m not sure if I could even do it because I am so sensitive to how doctors interact with me. It could blow my anxiety level and emotions through the roof with even just one “simple” thing! My doctor is great with me and understands my needs. He really cares for all his patients. If only medical/hospital bureaucracy did too.

Author: padschicago

Social Media Diva. From homeless to housed by Twitter & networking. Star in #Twittamentary. Interviews by numerous news media. Public Speaker. Advocate. *Not affiliated with Public Action to Deliver Shelter (PADS)*

Leave a Reply

