Home Sweet Home

Through social media and networking, I got off the streets after meeting someone at a tweetup at Garrett Popcorn! The man happened to be a case manager at Northwestern Memorial Hospital’s Stone Mental Health Clinic–and got me into their Emergency Housing Program (EHP)!

Yes, I am in housing! Its sort of a transitional or supportive housing program, I am not in an apartment but I do have my own room with ample space, with a closet and a sink in room. I had photos posted but had to remove them. Sorry if you missed them! We are all pretty much on our own.  Because this is a housing program we are checked upon by staff member and staff are available 24-hours a day. The program is run by a hospital so unfortunately, I assume due to liability issues, we are not in charge of our own medications–including over-the-counter meds. The hospital does provide a hot meal for dinner, as well as cereals and sandwiches for breakfast and lunch. Sometimes like this morning a staff member cooked pancakes–yum! (PS: In case staff reads my blog, how about french toast next week?! Mmmmm!!!!) Staff here is really great–I honestly have no complaints! Other residents are just as crazy as me and we all get along well! We all kid each other and seem to have a good time. Well, I have to go. Later!