Doctor, tell me it ain’t so!

I saw my kind and compassionate primary care doctor yesterday. We needed to talk about pain issues because Vicodin just hasn’t been long-acting enough to cover my pain. I have been on it for a long time. So in I went.

If you don’t know by now, I give my doctor “friendly harassment” via email. All off the record. Due to rules he cannot reply. The creative genius that my doctor is, he has come up with an alternative: changes to my electronic record and the doctor schedules online. Its up to me to interpret.

Among my usual physical problems, I have been itching a lot. Coincidently, my pain and use of the Vicodin also had gone up. Instead of Vicodin my doctor prescribed a couple weeks worth of Ultram to try. So far, it could be better. The Ultram is in addition to other regular non-narcotic pain medicine that I am on. So…I went online to check out the doctor’s office website and seek out if there have been any changes. YES. My codeine allergy is now “opiod analgesics”. Allergies to morphine and hydromorphone remain unchanged.

I have long suspected a possible developing hydrocodone allergy. I think denial has made me unconvinced. Because of my health issues and narcotic allergies, there isn’t much of anything at all left that I can take for pain!! That is quite a motivator, I think, when it comes to feeling pain. So I have some itching. So I have now started to get a slight rash, not much of one for most people to even consider a possible allergy. But sadly, yes, I know that a drug rash does not necessarily need to be wide-spread. It could even appear as just a couple dots in the same location every time a drug is taken. If I truly am allergic to hydrocodone, I pray something–ANYTHING–happens that will improve my pain issues. He said I could use physical therapy but that is another expense and I have no insurance or Medicaid. Still working on trying to get approved for SSDI. But for now, there is nothing else. I am not happy.

Author: padschicago

Social Media Diva. From homeless to housed by Twitter & networking. Star in #Twittamentary. Interviews by numerous news media. Public Speaker. Advocate. *Not affiliated with Public Action to Deliver Shelter (PADS)*

Leave a Reply

