Family ties

It has been coming time to tell my family that I am homeless. I have kept my life secret to them for so long. They live in another state a few hours or so away by car. My mom nor brother drive so they haven’t been able to come here to visit. My father died when I was 14 years.

I grew up in a very dysfunctional family, which carried on to adult life–especially in recent years when I began having problems with post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) because of abuses and rape by my husband when we were married. I haven’t seen my family back home in Wisconsin since August of 2001, I believe. That was the last time my mother saw her grandchildren. I know that my family misses me and my children very, very much! I too wish to have normal family relations with them again someday. My PTSD issus could prevent that from happening for a while yet because of abuses and other issus when I was a child. In all honesty, I was even advised once to not even go there to see them without approval from my psychotherapist (or psychiatrist or other professional caring for my mental health). I have no idea if anyone would object to a family get-together or not. To be honest though, I’m not sure how long I could take being there with them. Not long, that’s for sure.

I am afraid that I must end this here. I had to take a narcotic pain medicine tonight and its affecting me a little so with the normal fatigue of nighttime too I’m just not seeing as clearly. Have a good night.

Peace, love, prayer, knowledge, compassion… I wish these things for every one of you.

Author: padschicago

Social Media Diva. From homeless to housed by Twitter & networking. Star in #Twittamentary. Interviews by numerous news media. Public Speaker. Advocate. *Not affiliated with Public Action to Deliver Shelter (PADS)*

Leave a Reply

