A big thank you to Cross and Crown Church

Each and every Saturday of the year the volunteers with the Ministry of Hope at Cross and Crown Church in Arlington Heights, Illinois, serve a feast for the homeless and low-income of the area. Approximately 50 to 70 people enjoy the hot breakfast and lunch each week. Many partake in the opportunity to attend a worship service.

The volunteers and pastors of Cross and Crown are a gift from God to the homeless. They live from their hearts, offering smiles, joy, friendship, hope and support to all who need. They serve delicious meals, give clothing, bikes, and more. They give transportation to and from the church in a church member’s van. The Ministry of Hope is NOT even part of the church budget–all costs come out of their own pockets!

The Ministry of Hope volunteers are absolutely amazing! I honestly don’t know how such a small church can do so much for so many! Some may remember that it was this same church that was vandalized around Christmastime. There was an outpouring of support from communities all around, including an awesome new Christmas tree to replace the one that was damaged by the vandalism.

I felt glad that this church was able to celebrate Christmas and feel the warmth of the community help that we homeless feel when we go to the Ministry of Hope on Saturdays. I hope to return the love and kindness someday by finding a way to help them myself, perhaps by finding them a new or used van of their own to give us rides in to and from the church. It would even grant the church the ability to give us rides to the church on Sundays so that we may attend the regular worship service–something many of us wish to do but can’t get to the church on our own.

View a pdf file about the Ministry of Hope.

Author: padschicago

Social Media Diva. From homeless to housed by Twitter & networking. Star in #Twittamentary. Interviews by numerous news media. Public Speaker. Advocate. *Not affiliated with Public Action to Deliver Shelter (PADS)*

2 thoughts on “A big thank you to Cross and Crown Church”

  1. Nathan, I am very sorry for my late reply. I really wish I checked my blog more regularly but I’ve had some emotional issues for a while, and lately, more bad than good days. Tonight though, as I read this the tears in my eyes are finally from something positive and inspirational. I am glad to hear that you are spiritual and that your motives had nothing to do with religious matters. Of course you are forgiven!

    Like

  2. I know its been a few years since this. I was one of the two boys that vandalized the church. I want to apologize for what i did. I was 15 years old at the time, i had a great mother and father and home life. i have no clue why i would do such a thing. i feel so horrible about this that it makes my stomach hurt. Wile i’m not sure exactly what religin i believe in, I know i believe in god or a higher power than us.this vandalism had NOTHING to do with hatred to God, Cross And Crown church, or any of their followers. if your reading this, im glad i have at least got this out to someone. I hope that i can be forgiven for this horrible crime.

    Like

Leave a Reply

