The bad and the good

Sometimes its not easy to be homeless.  Like when it rains at night and I need to find a dry place to hopefully get some sleep. But there are other times as well.  Like today.  All day because of health issues that the rheumatologist hasn’t diagnosed yet, my kidneys didn’t produce much of anything despite that I was drinking plenty.  Well now they have kicked in!  Just in time for the night, when I hope to sleep.  But NO–I will likely be awakened a few times at least.  There are bushes nearby that I can use–but who wants to use bushes for a toilet?!  Maybe some of this swelling will start to go away after this.  I am still having pains from the swelling occurring.

Something good did happen this morning.  I saw my case worker and we are still working on the connections for mental health stuff.  I signed a release so should could talk to someone.  I told her about me going to a fundraiser for a homeless services place and she was impressed!  She seemed very excited and said that she could set it up so I could get my hair all done up, cut and complete style and everything for it!  That is so awesome!  It has been a whole year since I got a haircut–no frills, just a normal cut, at a homeless shelter.  The cut this time that my case worker would set me up with would be done by students, but just because of how long it has been since I have had a haircut I am still really excited about it!  I asked her about a computer and webcam and there are no webcams there, but I told her about Mark Horvath of Invisible People doing the video interview of me and she thought it was great and she’d look and check in about finding access to one.

Social Media Diva. From homeless to housed by Twitter & networking. Star in #Twittamentary. Interviews by numerous news media. Public Speaker. Advocate. *Not affiliated with Public Action to Deliver Shelter (PADS)*

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Health, links, Personal, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,716 other followers

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
Categories
Blog Stats
  • 42,797 hits
